2019 SoCal Road Race Recommendations

Hi everyone, I’ll be new to racing in 2019. I’ve been riding for 6 years and rode my first crit last year (Barrio Logan). Unfortunately, I was sidelined after with a few soft tissue injuries.

My goal for this year is to learn and build confidence. I’m comfortable riding in a pack/pace line but know racing is a different animal.

What are some good crit/road races/series to target in the SoCal area for a new Cat 5?

Thanks for your recommendations!

CBR upgrade crits. About as simple a course you can get.

I’m in he same boat. My buddy is pretty experienced and has started throwing me some Recs. I’m focusing on learning this season and competing as best I can.

1. Socalcycling.com is a great resource
  2. Rosena Circuit Race is supposed to be a great learning experience. Has three races in Feb 2, March 2 and April 6 I believe
  3. Victorville Road Race is also supposed to be a good one
  4. He said the UCLA Road Race is tough and very competitive but probably a really good learning opportunity.
  5. Check out all the Fondos that go on as well. Not races but great experiences

I’m also looking forward to what more experienced riders have to say.

1 Like

+1 on CBR. Jeff does a great job supporting new riders with clinics/mentored races. Both courses are wide open/sweeping good roads and fast races.

Any Ontario criterium. They are on the SoCal calendar as the “Dare to Race Criterium” January 27th the “easter Sunday Criterium” April 21st and “End of Season” June 30th. The course again is wide open and the roads are very good. Great vibe, good promoting.

Tour de Murrieta is fun. Last year it was just a criterium followed by a circuit. The criterium is an L shape, slight up and down. Decent roads and great promo. The circuit is slightly rolling and maybe half the course the roads were pretty chewed up. Not a big deal just FYI.