A thank you to TrainerRoad

Hi everyone,

No particular question, just a personal story and a thank you. I’ve been cycling for almost 10 years now (I’m 32). Never did any kind of training or racing, just riding around with friends and strangers. Ofcourse I got fitter and stronger over the years, but I never had any way of really quantifying that progress.

Usually winters meant no cycling. I did some spinning classes a couple of times but never enough to keep my fitness on a decent level. This winter I decided to spend some money and buy a trainer (Kickr Core) and check out Zwift and TrainerRoad. After the free week of Zwift I was convinced riding indoors was the thing for me. I sat on that thing staring at my screen for three hours straight, crazy! Although I enjoyed that week I could already tell that Zwift wasn’t going to keep me engaged. So I tried TrainerRoad. Somehow the blue bars and yellow line were enough to keep me motivated. When a silly program tells me I can do 300 watt for 1 more minute, I’m going to do 300 watt for 1 more minute! I guess I’m a simple man. When I did my second ramp test after the first block and saw an increase of about 4% I was so happy. Structured training works? You can really see the results? Wow. Who knew.

Starting with TrainerRoad I felt like getting to a 10% increase of FTP before the start of spring would be awesome. It wasn’t a goal I set for myself, you cant really influence the progress you’ll make like that, but just a cool milestone I was hoping to reach. Right now I’m at 12% and rising, and I was already really fit when I started.

Last weekend the weather over here was finally good enough to ride outside. This was the real test; did the rising FTP on my indoor trainer mean I was going to ride faster outside? Long story short, yes, yes it did. It was so amazing to work as hard as I did last year but go way faster. Again I had that realization; wow, structured training works.