ANT+ Pain in the Arse!

So I recently went with Garmin Ant adapters so that I could get speed and cadence data paired with my Garmin 735 watch. Now I have the data in Garmin connect but has rendered Trainer Road worthless since it no longer receives data. (iOS)

Can I run BOTH Bluetooth and ANT+ sensors on my bike? Seems like this would be the easy way around this problem but have heard of no one doing this so assuming not possible? Data interference?

I have been debating leaving Apple for Android for several months now but I shouldn’t be pushed because of stupid data sensors on a bike. Even then still have to buy the ant key, cable, etc.
The fact Garmin devices still hang onto a archaic standard (ant+) I find ridiculous, yet it is the defacto standard. Or perhaps it is Apple and Android devices that are to blame for not natively supporting a legacy standard. Regardless it’s just a unneeded pain in the arse!

Bluetooth worked just fantastic before I changed to Ant+, but have no data for Garmin. Damned if you do Damned if you don’t!

There are many devices (cadence, speed and heart rate) that send ANT+ and BLE simultaneously. I’d get those next time because they give you maximum options.

2 Likes

Just get speed and cadence sensors that send both ANT and BT. I have used Wahoo RPM sensors for years already with TR and they work great.

Certain android devices work with ant+ as well

So you were using TR and pairing it with your IOS hardware (phone or ipad). That would have used BLE I assume.
Why is that not working now?

Sorry to sound stupid but I am a bit confused

I’m 100% satisfied with a 200 USD Xiaomi phone. I run a custom rom (Pixel experience), have native ANT+, Pixel camera (gcam port), 4000 mAh battery, global ad blocker.
At work I use an iPhone so i’m used to them as well, but would never consider them for private use.

1 Like

I agree.