Anyone wax a 12 speed SRAM AXS chain yet? Difference between Force AXS and Red AXS Chain?

I’ve done a couple of chains now and they seem to get noisy really quick!

I’m pretty sure they were stripped correctly. I’m worried that the smaller tolerances on the 12-speed AXS chain make it so the wax goes away quickly.

Has anyone else experienced this?

Another question: What’s the difference between the Force AXS and Red AXS chain? Competitive Cyclist says 9 grams and $35.

3 Likes

Molten Speed Wax. I’m a pro at waxing 11 speed chains and 12 speed eagle.

Here’s another question, does anyone have SRAM AXS and notice a loud chain? I can hear it more in the 3 and 9 o’clock positions when I’m putting out power. It’s almost like the “whoosh whoosh whoosh” you get from a disc but not in a cool way since it’s my chain :frowning:.

Clearly a case of too much power Nate.

7 Likes

I know that Dan from Premier Bike have said at slowtwitch that they use Wipperman chains for their waxed chains because of the tighter tolerances those are manafactured to. However, Premier disassembles the chain and polishes every individual part, making the chain looser. He has said on that forum that a Wipperman chain that has not been treated in this way is not suitable for waxing, as there simply isn’t enough room for the wax. I don’t know about the AXS chains, but this sounds like something similar?

This is what I’m afraid of and it makes sense since 12 speed has to make everything tighter.

I’m waiting for official data, but I read somewhere else that it looks like the smaller front chain rings and the 10 tooth cog makes the whole thing take up more watts.

I wish they would have done bigger chain rings and gone to 11 in the front.