Anyone with experience of merging polarized (80/20) and TR bike plan?

Having recently upgraded to a smart trainer (still waiting for delivery!) I am keen to look at utilising trainer road into my current training schedule.

Coming from a MTB background of mostly downhill / bikepark riding I am pretty new to the whole training plan concept. I took up triathlon 2 years ago, and for my first 2 events (Slateman / Ironman Wymouth 70.3) followed a traditional periodized plan, which buried me. Whilst I completed the events I was spending a lot of time injured / getting physio, and really didnā€™t enjoy a lot of the training.

Last year I decided to take on a full Ironman, but having not run a marathon before decided to tick that off first. This is when I came across Matt Fitzgerald and Dave Wardens 80/20 plans. I followed my first marathon plan, and was amazed at how well I progressed to the full distance, and also how great I felt (injury free for the whole training cycle / significant weight loss) even my physio commented on how little work I needed doing.

Based off the success of this, I followed the Ironman plan ahead of a Long course weekend. Again, felt great, and progressed through the plan injury free.

Now I am signed up for 3 races next year, with Ironman Wales being my A race. Part of me just wants to stick with the 80/20 plan as it has given me a lot of success. BUT at the same time, I am aware that the bike is where I can make the biggest gains, which has me thinking TR is a better option.

So my question really is, has anyone had success running a hybrid style plan ? I am considering following the 80/20 structure for running and swimming still, but TR for the bike.

Or maybe following the 80/20 plan and substituting the two shorter rides of the 80/20 plan a week to TR, and maintaining the long slow weekend rides / brick sessions

Just looking for some thoughts / advice on this, as I say Iā€™m very new to the whole world of FTP / training plans

5 Likes