Back Pain in longer rides

Hi all,

I’ve been riding for about 10 years. About a year ago I started to have back pain if I ride was hilly or if I was riding above my threshold. I started to use k-tape to help which it does. Now I can’t go in rides longer than 2hrs without it.
I went to the Md. had x-rays done. MRI of my lower back and nada. everything looks fine. Had a very through fit. Still the same pain. The doctor recommended strengthening my core which I have to admit I don’t work on it very often. Could this be the only solution to this problem? Has anyone else had this type of pain?
BTW i went to a chiro doc for about 2 months… still same thing.
Thank you for your help.!

I’ve had the same issue for quite sometime.
In my case, it is caused by tight hip flexors.

Look up tight hip flexors stretches on google and then stay on top of them religiously.

3 Likes

do you stretch every week? you also need to do the strength training exercises to counter the posture cycling causes.

I had similar issues when i neglected my strength training and increased my weekly cycling hours. A pt diagnosed my problem due to muscle imbalances (weak left gluteus medius). Unless you work out these imbalances, this well lead to tightness in your muscles.

I’d suggest stretching / foam rolling your quads, hamstrings and calves to see if it helps. Definitely spend some time doing deadlifts and squats to strengthen the back.

do you also have desk job on the weekdays? those adds to tightness in the hip flexors as mentioned above as does cycling so do spend some time stretching your hip flexors.

hope it helps.

1 Like