Balancing marathon and trainerroad training

I’m running a marathon next April and keen to improve on my PB and do myself justice by running the best race that I can. I want to keep things going on the bike as I’ve been using TR for the past 4 months and seen some great improvements, but could do with some guidance on how to balance enough running while continuing to tick over on TR.

I was thinking that I’d follow the sweet spot base low volume blocks a couple of times, while following my running plan, before then upping the intensity on the bike once the marathon is behind me. Does this sound a sensible way to balance things?

I’m in the same boat, training for my first marathon (late November). I did exactly what you did, starting out with a low-volume plan while starting out running a few times a week. I think starting out with a low-volume plan as the base should be fine, don’t think you would need to repeat it.

I would say, be smart about how you line up your workouts - I try to avoid having back-to-back tough days, especially when one of the tough days is a long run. Not so much a fatigue concern but an injury concern; I’m new to running and am trying to be very careful to not end up hurt.

If you’ve already been running for a bit, you may not need to be that concerned about it!

Good luck for the marathon!

I’ve been running a while and currently averaging around 30 miles a week currently (across 6 runs) while doing a low volume build phase. It feels okay currently and no sign of any niggles or injury, but then I want to up my milage to around 50 miles average and not sure I’d be able to keep up with the build phase with that amount of running.

How about using one of the Full distance triathlon plans which includes longer run training for the 26.2 miles part of the triathlon.

You could ignore the swim and brick sessions.

Although it would also depends on what your cycling goals as the programme will be more focused on getting to the longer distances