Benefits (?) of TRX for cycling

I eventually want to get into more “hardcore” weight lifting, but I am a total noob at this and would like to approach it having first built a decent foundation.

The gym I will go to offers TRX sessions and I am keen on starting with that in order to get a modicum of core functionality. And maybe after a couple months of that I’ll progress to a “proper”* weight lifting regime.

(a) Is TRX a valid option for the purpose I outline?
(b) Does the “plan” I am thinking of make sense for me?

Thanks in advance :slight_smile:

*one along the lines coach chad and others have proposed

TRX is mostly core focused, so I’d say yes, there is a huge benefit for cyclists.

TRX is great. You can get a good total body workout with it.

The best thing about TRX is you can get a decent workout in your basement, or anywhere really. A full fledged gym plan would be great. But I get plenty of value from just doing a handful of basic exercises 3x per week at home. Everyone should have some TRX straps! (Or, get knock offs - there is no magic to the TRX brand. There are even directions online on how to make your own set for about $15)

BTW - Suspension strap work can be tough enough that you never have to “transition” to weights.

Thanks guys.

It seems I will start off with TRX then, and dabble in weights later on

TRX is great especially if you want to start strength training. I’ve had a bad habit of not keeping up with my strength so when I start back, I always start on the TRX so that I just don’t go and murder all my muscles by trying to do too much. The TRX helps keep me from doing that. Then when I move to weights, there are moves on the TRX that I continue to do because they are so good for the core and still hard.