Beta Fuel Reviews

I’m thinking about getting some Beta Fuel drink packets and was wondering what folks experiences were. I plan on using them on all my 2hr GB-HV1 & 2 TR sessions. Thanks in advance for any feedback/recommendations.

1 Like

I first bought Mauerten from hearing it on the podcast. I have found it to be the blood of life. After seeing Froomey’s Giro dash and learning about beta I just tried it for the first time.

It has flavors where Mauerten is one flavor. Thats the only pro I’d have thus far. Its 2-3 times the volume of powder but requires the same amount of water. Its a lot heavier to drink, sweeter, sticky, seems like every other drink out there.

One isn’t a great review but immediate comparisons of the two and knowing they are extremely similar I’d give the recommendation to Mauerten over beta fuel

4 Likes

I have a friend who is an ambassador for SIS. He’s an ultra runner, with a tiny bit of cycling here and there, so he does not use the Beta Fuel. Anyway, he was telling me the SIS Beta Fuel was created for high intensity athletes, and Team Sky specifically due to very high blood sugar levels, and what’s great about it is that it won’t spike sugar levels like other carb drinks despite having adequate carbohydrates in the packet. It is a different consistency, but I’m a big fan.

Another bit of info he gave me (which may need to be cross-checked), the creator of Maurten worked at SIS previously; thus, the formula is very similar. But Maurten tends to be more expensive…

3 Likes

I tried it one time and it works; but the flavor was like drinking a powdered version of WarHead candy. Disgusting, frankly.

I’ve got Maurten on deck for tomorrow so hope it tastes a bit better.

3 Likes