Big or small chainring on kickr?

Im currently using the small chainring to train on my kickr as I train early in the morning to trying to avoid too much noise. Is there any difference between using the small or large chainring if all workouts are done in erg mode. (I had previously read somewhere that the big chainring was more realistic to riding on the road)

I had issues being in the Big Ring and having the KICKR brake correctly. So now I stay in the Small Ring and line my chain up on the back to a 21 or a 23.

No problems since.

Gearing does have an impact. It is essentially affecting the flywheel speed and inertia, which impacts how it loads your body and muscles.

Here is a video showing some of the differences.

This has been discussed in other threads. I will search and add links to them.

2 Likes

So I am new to a kickr core. I prefer riding in the big front and middle rear vs small front and middle rear,

Should I be swapping back and forth between the 2 modes to have variation in what muscles are being worked?

It’s really a personal choice as we don’t have any definite answers. Try them both and see.if you notice any difference for you and your needs.

Am I missing out of any muscle adaptations riding in the small ring?
I’m guessing I’m loading the muscles for longer of the pedaling circle but are there any negatives coming from this? Missing out on a higher load for certain muscles?

Again, no one knows. Everything around this is a ‘maybe’ for now. There is no firm data.

Personally, I think using a mix is a good idea. But that can depend entirely on the rider and their needs or preferences.

1 Like

Better get outdoor as soon as possible then :nerd_face:

1 Like

I recently switched this up and then switched back, and I have some N=1 advice . . .

Since it has been hypothesized that there might be a slight benefit to using the small chainring . . . but we are talking about marginally marginal gains . . . I submit the following: