Broken Back to Ramp Test-How to Prepare?

Imagine that someone just got the okay from their neurosurgeon to start riding on the trainer again (while wearing a brace) 8 weeks after fracturing their L1 and L5 vertebrae in a crash.

How should one in that situation get prepared to tackle the Ramp Test?

Should they spend a week or so soft-pedaling for 30 minutes to an hour getting used to pedaling again, or is there some sort of power output that they should be able to hit so they know their body is ready for a big effort again?

I’m asking for a friend (wink!).

Hey there, simplejj. Sorry to hear about your injury! That sounds like no fun. I’m no expert, but I would think your best course of action is to bring your FTP way down and start with some aerobic endurance rides before trying to tackle the ramp test. It’s not that long of a ride, but boy does it sting there at the end. I would guess that would not be great for someone with so much other trauma.

This made me think of Nate’s journey back when he broke his collarbone. It may be worth checking out those podcast episodes if you haven’t listened to them before, or in a while. Hope this helps! Feel better!

Not a broken back, but I broke my shoulder in early 2017. Once I was able to get the bike off the rack and set up the trainer (about 8 weeks post injury) I did a couple of weeks of Pettit for two reasons:

1. I was still in a sling (horay for bungee cords!) and couldn’t actually get my hand on the bars
  2. I wanted to get used to things again
  3. It was pre-ramp test so I used them to guesstimate my FTP based on previous experience which I could then use in the 8 minute test.

Might be wise to go carefully with a ramp test, you could consider doing the 8 minute version instead to limit the stress a bit. I can imagine muscle tension on the ramp test trying to gut out the last minute could be unpleasant.