Cadence and MTB

Hi guys, my name is Nicola and I am an Italian mtb amateur, 40 year old (4000 km per year and 6.000 m elevation) and it is the first year I use TR (used with an Elite Direto and a road bike).

I structured my training program like this:

1. Base Phase - Sweet Spot Base (Low volume I & II)
  2. Build Phase - Short Power Build (Low volume)
  3. Specialty Phase - Cross-Country Olympic (Low volume)

I started on October 8th with a FTP of 235w for 74kg of weight (3.13w / kg) and I would have to finish on May 1st (unfortunately I had a total interruption of 20 days due to an otitis that led me to a lowering of the FTP at 210w - (2.83w / kg).

Currently I’m in the first lessons of the second block of Sweet Spot Base, I feel good with TR and I feel good legs …

The thing I would like to ask the most experienced of TR is: up to now, in this phase of development of the resistance and improvement of FTP, I always worked with cadences above 85 rpm as requested by the coach.

With traditional training I was used to doing work of strength and resistance at rpm much lower: type 45/55 rpm, why this difference?

Moreover, being a MTB cyclist is it necessary for me to develop these skills to work at such high cadences? Considering that in mtb I rarely risk pedaling so agile?

Thanks for your answers.

1 Like

It is beneficial to have the ability to spin light, but be careful to not lose the other end of the spectrum.

A few years ago I did a lot of work to up my cadence during winter training. Training was spinning-classes and the occasional jogging and XC skiing.
I became much more comfortable with higher cadence and did feel that the possibility to “rest” the muscles a bit with light load did increase my average cycling speed. But… I completely lost the abbility to HNNNGhh myself over small bumps and hills in the terrain, and all technincal and loose surface climbing also did suffer . I did not feel like a good rounded mountainbiker until august.