Cleaning cassette

Guys, I have a disgustingly filthy cassette. I removed from bike (11 speed 11-28 Ultegra). What is the best thing for me to use? After my individual cogs look like new, what do I use as a lubricant/grease? Please, educate a noob :slight_smile: thanks

Once removed and cleaned then just put it back on. As far as I know you dont want anything on it. Anything you add will just collect grime and dirt and increase wear. Lube your chain and not the cassette.

I am far from an expert though!

3 Likes

Clean your drivetrain. When it’s dry, you lube the chain. More is not better! Wipe off excess.

Choice of lube depends wet vs dry, road vs off-road, and personal tastes. Here is a good read:

Personally, I use Squirt. I do one drop on each joint, applied to the inside of the chain (i.e., if looking at your bike, the topside of chain between the chainring and the rear derailleur. After applying to all joints. I turn the cranks several revolutions while shifting up and down the cassette. Wipe off any excess.

5 Likes

For the cassette, brush on liquid degreaser / spray on foaming degreaser / spray with WD40 (or your local alternative). Let that do its work. Then give the sprockets a scrub with hot water, washing up liquid, and an old sponge or brush. “Floss” between any sprockets that are welded together with a piece of string. Rinse it off, let it dry, and reassemble.

To prevent it happening more, clean and lube your drivetrain regularly. There are other threads with incredibly detailed instructions, but for starters, this is what I’d call the “essential” routine.

1. Run the chain through a chain cleaning tool filled with liquid degreaser OR brush on liquid degreaser to all the links with an old brush OR use spray degreaser.
  2. Go through all the gears on your cassette to transfer the degreaser onto all the sprockets.
  3. Leave it for a few minutes.
  4. Take the back wheel out and give the cassette a quick go over with sponge and hot soapy water.