Completed SSB LV1 what next?

So I completed the SSB LV1 plan and am wondering where to go from here.

TLDR; first RAMP test was 123, after SSB it was 150. Should I move onto the build phase or continue with base.

Background: I just bought a road bike in August so I am completely new to the sport. I was a distance runner in highschool so the structured and interval work offered by TR was very appealing. I bought a smart trainer and got started. I basically came in with no fitness at all. I had knee surgery on an old ACL tear 2 years ago and never fully recovered. My left leg had basically no muscle.

My first RAMP test came out to a 123 FTP. I am 5’10 and 160 lbs, so that was pretty awful, but I wasn’t that surprised given my leg and overall fitness. I made it through the 6 weeks of SSB1 and felt great. I am already starting to see my muscle coming back.

I took another RAMP test last night and got a 150 FTP. I felt this was pretty good given my level of fitness.

So my question is, should I move on to another base plan? Or should I go right into the build phase? I haven’t had any knee pain yet but also don’t want to over do it.

1 Like

SSB LV2 is your next port of call.

The base phases are generally split in half to be done consecutively. Then build, then speciality.

3 Likes

Ssb 2 is next. Really wouldn’t suggest anything else without v good reason (e.g. v little time to main event)

Ok, so firstly congratulations on getting a 20% bump in FTP from completing SSBLV1 ! That’s a great result and you should be rightly proud.

As above, the next obvious stage is SSBLV2

You don’t mention your age, but assuming you have coped well with Low volume there is no reason why you shouldn’t consider moving to mid vol. unless you feel it may impact your leg rehabilitation