Cram for endurance? A fat, slow man needs help and quick

My friends and I signed up for the 141 mile SBT gravel race in Steamboat Colorado in 1 month. We signed up many months ago, and I had the best intentions of training into peak fitness. However, life happened in the form of a badly broken ankle about 3 months ago, and serious family problems (everyone is happy and healthy now!) for the last month that have totally prevented any type of training.

So, I had a solid base (SSB1) going into the ankle break, and I’ve had 1-2 rides a week since then (roughly 4 hours per week). In the past I’ve found that a mid-volume is maintainable for me, and I can peak up to large volume for a week or two at most before I get injured or worn out.

I have zero experience at elevation and live and ride around 1-2k feet. The race is around 7k feet.

I also have one week (starting this Thursday) where I’ll be taking care of my 7 children alone (my wife is traveling to England!). The plan there is to set the trainer up in the living room and train after their bed time or before they wake up. I should be able to get 1-2 hours per day in there.

So… should I focus on losing weight (I can stand to lose weight and it would absolutely help – I’m 88kg and at my ironman weight I was 69kg. I’m health around 75-80 kg (I’ve spent a significant amount of time at the gym and have definitely gained muscle and not just fat, so unsure of my “low” weight now)), or just tons of base miles and as many long rides as I can get in? I honestly feel like there IS a pace at which I can do the ride right now, but I’ll be out there for 12ish+ hours and I’d like to reduce that if at all possible.

Thoughts? Solutions? Prayers?! Any help appreciated.

1 Like

Coming off an injury, trying to cram fitness, lose weight, and dealing with 7 kids for a week sounds like a perfect way to dig yourself into a hole and start the race worse off than you are now.