CX Dismounts / Remounts

I’ve got my first CX race next weekend and the one thing that I’m most apprehensive about is the dismount/remount bit. Does anyone know of any good self-coaching resources (YouTube vids etc.)?

1 Like

Sure GCN has some CX basic videos, I think Cody Kaiser has videos too.

What I did when racing at first was race with running shoes and flat pedals, even though I had been riding clipless for years, figured I’d nail the technique in race scenarios without risking doing something dumb, but if you practice enough beforehand this should be unnecessary!

1 Like

Make yourself some barriers out of PVC or wood (if you’re ambitious) and practice, practice, practice.

Here’s a pic of mine for reference:

IMG_1770

Like @hubcyclist suggests, check out GCN or Cody’s YouTube channels. It may help to watch some pro’s to see how they do it during a race (as long as they aren’t hopping them–that’s a whole other skill set).

I’m no expert, but the two biggest aspects I focus on are dismounting at the right spot ahead of the barriers so that I have enough time to get my hand positions correct, lifting the bike high, and, after hopping over the barriers, getting back on the bike and moving again as efficiently as possible. It’s easier when practicing. Not so much during a race when the pressure is on.

Good luck and have fun! #cxishere!!!

Yeah there’s tonnes on youtube. I wouldn’t say any are particularly better or worse. Just watch a few and find one that “clicks” with you.

I will say, however, that in my experience, dismounts and remounts make up a very very small part of the race. What takes up a much larger part is cornering. So, if it were me, I’d focus more on the stuff that’s going to give me the best advantage for the time spent practicing it.

Cyclocross is tonnes of fun so have a great race and remember to smile!

2 Likes

Start with old shoes for all things training because this will wear them out.