Failed workouts

Hey guys,

I’m new to indoor riding as used to commute (200miles) a week for over a decade but recently changed jobs so now work from home. My base level fitness is pretty good but the miles I was doing were just junk miles in terms of I wasn’t getting any better. I joined TR and started the mid volume sweetspot base plan. I really struggled with over and unders and then week 3 I felt as strong as an ox. I got really drunk and next day had to bail early on a workout and then on the next one as well (then realised for the second workout it should have been a rest day ). Question is this…is this normal or should I be able to sail through the plan? I’m now in week 5 and doing Geiger later on today ! Feedback appreciated. Regards Terry

You definitely shouldn’t be able to sail through the plan! If your FTP is set correctly the hardest sessions (generally over-unders in SSB) should be just about managable.

1 Like

Sometimes if fitness improves enough the later weeks will start to get less difficult. I don’t think they ever get easy. On the other hand, it’s probably at least as common that as fatigue builds up through the later weeks, that things stay nice and hard. This is compounded a bit by the workouts having a natural progressions, so even if your fitness improves a bit, the workouts are harder also.

I like to keep in mind that we don’t get faster while training, you get faster while recovering. That recovery week built into plans can go a long way towards giving yourself time to recover and make the improvements that you earned during the previous weeks.

1 Like

Hey Terry! I’ve been around cycling a long time but, new to training on a trainer as well. I’ve noticed a few things: