FTP for Ironman 70.3

Hi,

I am relatively new to cycling. My first race is in June 6 2020. My FTP is now 260 (ramp test). I would like to have my FTP on the end of May at around 300-310. I am into HIM High Volume training plan. Do you think is it possible to achieve this type of gain in around nearly 7 months before the race? I ussually train around 16-20 hrs/week (5 swim, 4 bike + 1 additional MTB easy ride) + 3 -4 runs) and I want have my bike split time at around 02:15-02:20. Thank you for reading this and answers.

It is really hard to answer that question without some more data…but it is a big jump in FTP in a relatively short period of time. That said, you note that you are relatively new to cycling, so big gains are possible…but it is a big leap

My personal advice is to not worry too much about setting time goals for your first 70.3…there is a LOT that goes into racing a 70.3 well and setting time goals for your first race is pretty tough and adds incremental stress. (But we all do it, I know…)

I will say this…depending on your height / weight / position (and course profile), your time goal is quite possibly achievable with your given FTP. I went 2:19 at Muncie in 2017 with ~260 FTP. Now, that is a fast course and I have a pretty good position, but it is possible.

I would encourage you to focus on the work and not set an arbitrary FTP number as a goal. Make your goal process driven (complete HVIM Build program, etc) and let the outcome be the outcome.

Oh, and run more. Run 6 days a week, some really short and easy, some longer, some tempo.

1 Like

Oh boy, so many questions.

1. How did you measure your power?
  2. What’s your height and weight?
  3. How new are you to cycling? And did you do sports before?
  4. What is the race course like?
  5. What bike will you be riding? Do you have a photo on the bike?
    (#4 and 5 relate to speed, which you mentioned but didn’t specifically ask about).