FTP Test in ERG mode

Hi Guys,

I’m a Trainer Road user looking to do the 20 minute FTP test in erg mode. The reasons why are 1) I’d prefer to ride efficiently at a consistent wattage rather than fluctuate up and down over 20 minutes 2) I’d like to take shifting out of the equation & just hold a number.

To try & achieve this I have: 1) downloaded the TrainerRoad workout creator 2) copied the standard 20 minute FTP test on TrainerRoad 3) changed the 20 minute section with another 20 minute section. My goal being to duplicate the existing 20 minute FTP test but have the test in erg mode.

Will this work?

Thanks for your help in advance,
Chris

1 Like

I’m probably missing something, but I don’t see how this could work.
In erg mode, your watts are already determined before you start and the whole reason for the FTP test is to see how many watts you can produce for 20 minutes.

Yeah no. This doesn’t work. The 1x20 or 2x8 formats need to be done in resistance mode. TR auotmagically switches you from erg to resistance as needed in the assessments.

Why not give the ramp test a go. It’s I’ve faster, hurts less, and has much lower training impact. And you can do it in erg.

1 Like

So, the idea is that if a user can maintain a constant 220 watts over 20 minutes then their FTP would be 209 watts as an example. I think it is a more beneficial approach to target a fixed wattage for the period rather than going in & fluctuating & having to change through gears.

I’ve done the ramp test a load of times but I don’t think it favours endurance based, primarily zone 2 riders like myself. I wanted to compare the 20 minute test but use a fixed wattage.

1 Like

If you want to check the result just do 2x20 at 100% and you will know. Alternatively there is a thread about if you can hold your FTP for an hour.