Giant Cyclotron Mag, too high FTP

Hi all,

I am new to trainerroad and am using virtual power on my Giant Cyclotron Mag. I double checked that the Mag was set up properly. Well, when I did my first ramp test it came out to FTP of 432- which is most certainly not true. Does anyone else use the Mag and have this issue?
I reached out to the support folks (SUPER helpful by the way) who mentioned that I might be able to adjust the power curve manually in the settings to get things a little more accurate- but that’s a bit out of my wheelhouse. They did mention that this particular trainer is common with this issue.
The training will work fine with the inflated number and I’ve been through a few workouts and it’s working- it’s just odd with the really high FTP.

Does anyone else use the Giant Cyclotron Mag and have this issue, and maybe could guide me through this power curve thing?

What support? And how do you manually adjust a power curve? I’ve tried attaching a similar bike with a power meter and adjusting the wheel circumference setting in the TR app until the power reported from TR and power meter matched, but, last time I tried that a year ago, the wheel circumference setting in reality often for some reason got reset to 2096 and output “wrong power”. Maybe they’ve fixed that by now.

I’m guessing you don’t have a strain based power meter to use? In which case it’s fine to train on the basis of the virtual power number as long as it’s consistent between rides. Whenever you decide it’s worthwhile and viable to invest in either a true strain gauge power meter or a smart trainer then you will need to retest to allow for your new ‘source of truth’.

hi Hugo,