Help me understand Training Peaks lingo please

I’m a noob to training and to fitness in general. I’ve been using TrainerRoad for about 10 weeks now, and it has really helped me focus on form. When I first picked up cycling again after many years, I tended to throw myself at every challenge and blew up quickly. I’m now a disciple of Coach Chad and know my tempo from my threshold etc :smile:

I also use Training Peaks, although it may be too much analysis for me. I’m someone who likes data though. Here’s my TrainingPeaks data as of this morning:

Fitness 41
Fatigue 40
Form -5

I get that a bigger fitness number is better, and 41 is about my peak since starting all this ~3 months ago. But I’m looking for a ‘for Dummies’ explanation of the other two. I’ve read about the exponential weightings and the different timescales used, but it doesn’t help me answer what I hope is a very simple question:

Given the data above, should today be a workout day or a rest day?

All help in interpreting the data is gratefully received!

• Pasta
1 Like

Fitness = how much work you done over the last several month
Fatigue = how much work you’ve done over the last several weeks
Form = how much more fitness you have than fatigue

More fitness isn’t also better. The numbers are just a guide.

1 Like

Link to the official source.

https://help.trainingpeaks.com/hc/en-us/sections/205644448-Glossary-of-Terms

Fitness (CTL) is a rolling 6-week average of your training load (TSS). Fatigue (ATL - Acute Training Load) is a short term measure of your average training load, showing how far down you’ve pushed yourself in the last 7 days. Form (Training Stress Balance - TSB) is an estimate of how well rested you are relative to your fitness.