High Volume Training Plan Mega-Thread

As someone new to HV plans I thought it would be nice to have a place where people can share their strategies for attacking those long trainer rides and tough weeks.

Feel free to share:

• Entertainment choices
  • Nutrition strategies
  • Recovery optimizations
  • How you cope when life gets in the way of your training plan
  • Anything else that you have found useful in your experience
4 Likes

IMO the most important factor of a HV plan is not the training but the rest and nutrition (and time) required to support the training.

Eat a LOT.
Sleep a LOT.

Nail these two, in addition to reducing all other stressors (physical mostly), and you should be able to complete a HV plan.

13 Likes

I am also new to HV and agree with @Captain_Doughnutman. I eat a ton of carbs (steel cut oats, brown rice, beans are staples).
Focus on micro-nutrients from spirulina, leafy greens, quinoa, etc.
Supplement with vitamins (D, C, magnesium, calcium, zinc, bcaa).
A couple times I could feel myself getting a little run down and possibly getting sick and would follow this emergency protocol…

1. Zicam immediately
  2. OJ with spirulina
  3. Lay around and refuse to do any chores around the house :grimacing:
  4. Take an Alka-Seltzer cold night time and go to bed very early
  5. Sleep 10-11 hours
    The next day I would be 100%.
7 Likes

#preach

not a TR user, but I’ve been getting ~15hrs/week this fall – most of it on the trainer.

what has been said:

• eat enough
  • sleep at least 8hrs/night
  • naps after weekend workouts
  • back off – 5 days a week should probably be below AeT (or about 75% of FTP). the extra volume has to come from the low intensity, not from trying to add more tempo or sweet spot.
  • I don’t need music or videos or Zwift. Do enough 2 hour trainer rides, your head just gets used to it.
8 Likes

Secret weapon :point_up_2:

10 Likes

:exploding_head::exploding_head::exploding_head: