Highly branched cyclic dextrin

I have been using this carb source for many years during hockey games and in the gym. I started using it with electrolytes during my races and trainings a month a good and got great results out of it. I feel this carb source is way better than any glucose/fructose products. I was wondering if anyone here have tried it and got similar results.

The science behind this carb source seems to support a high effectivness for endurance sports. Maybe this could be a topic that @chad could dig in for a future podcast episode.

Q&A says it’s lactose-free.

Colette on 01/07/2018|Question: Hi there, is HBCD free of lactose, dairy and gluten free?|
Answer: Hi Colette, our Highly Branched Cyclic Dextrin (Cluster Dextrin) is dairly and gluten free.

Perhaps the manufacturing starts with lactose, but the final product is something else. Really, it sounds like ucann superstarch and similar items. They compare themselves favorably vs waxy maize, similar to how ucann woud position itself. I’m guessing they just found a different way to manufacture it. I think ucann’s method is patented and uses heat, moisture and possibly pressure? And this products talks about an enzymatic process. It looks a lot cheaper, which is interesting.

I saw that too, and it is odd. But “dextrin” isn’t lactose. And this is the manufacturers website, so if they explicitly say it doesn’t have lactose then that’s pretty much from the horses mouth. I didn’t immediately see a nutrition label.

The “side effects” are the same things you’d see on pretty much any product… eg, placebo’s in drug trials usually have the same side effects. I’m sure plenty have reactions like this to certain gels, which is why there’s so much variation in what people prefer and tolerate.

1 Like

I’ve started using cyclic dextrin and have had excellent results. I stomach it very easily compared with normal glucose or glucose fructose carb drinks. I’d be interested to hear of other people’s experiences too.