Hill Climb Time Trials

Hello,
I am coming to the end of a short Hill Climb Time Trial season in the UK. I am new to this event and am looking for guidance. Training for these (typically) 2-5 minute events has been discussed by Chad in a recent podcast with some useful insights… but I wanted to know what everybody else thought. These time trail climbs are typically on climbs with steep gradients with averages often around 15% and sections up to 20. Any thoughts on outdoor or indoor sessions to hone fitness and skills specific to this event appreciated. Thanks

This is all VO2 Max. Any plans that emphasize this in the plan will be your friend; Short Power Build and Criterium for sure.

My favourite outdoor hill climb training session…

1. Find a hill that takes about 1 minute full gas. Sprint for the first 10 seconds, then sit down and push all the way to the top, no letting up. Ride easy for at least 4 minutes and preferably more - you want to fully recover between each interval. Repeat 8 times.
  2. Ride gently to your next hill, which should be 3-6 minutes in length and as even a gradient as possible.
  3. Ride up this hill 4 times as hard as you can, with plenty of rest between each one. Your anaerobic capacity should have been completely depleted by part 1, so you’re now working the aerobic system alone. Judging by my efforts, I’d aim for 85% of the power you’d do that hill in a hill climb competition. But it’s just whatever you can manage really.
  4. Go home, have some cake, get some sleep, have a day off.

My “favourite” vo2 max indoor session is Shortoff +4. The various versions of Bashful and Baird are good for the shorter but repeated intervals.

And for what it’s worth, my 3 hill climb tips…
Preparation, preparation, preparation.