I can't take it anymore...back to my KK Road Machine

I’ve been using Kinetic Road Machines for the past 10+ years, started using TR in 2013 with it, with virtual power. This year I bought a Kickr Snap, first one only lasted a month. Wahoo replaced it. Been riding it the past 5 months and I just don’t like the magnetic feel or ERG mode. It feels like I am pedalling through mud all the time. If my cadence drops below 95 on a threshold or above interval, it just clamps down on the force and I begin the death spiral. I end up doing my high power work at 105 rpm otherwise it just kills me. I’ve tried big ring, little ring, standard and resistance mode. It just feels like garbage. Been having some dropouts with BT and I spend more time screwing around with connections etc, I just don’t have time for that. Went back to the Kinetic this week and it was like seeing an old friend, felt so good. I know there are some better, wheel off options but I’m not going to shell out $1K+ for a trainer. Maybe when someone comes out with a variable resistance fluid smart trainer I might give it a shot. Bye-Bye Snap and good riddance.

6 Likes

I got my Kicker 2 for $400 on craigslist last fall. There are deals, just have to look. Any wheel-on trainer for me felt like puddling in mud. I’d rather go back to my rollers than use as wheel-on.

1 Like

Last year I had similar trouble with a cyclops Magnus. Hated it and went back to my KKRM. This year I bought a Kickr Core on 20% off BF sale for ~$750. I love it so far. No performance differences than the KKRM but I love the road feel, the convenience of not having to shift and the simulation on Zwift when I do that.
I think if you are gonna give smart trainers a fair shake, you have to either not do it or go big. These wheel on smart trainers are kind of half-assing it.

2 Likes

Two observations here.