I need a pep-talk! (and a glass of wine)

Hey fellow TrainerRoad cyclists!

I just finished a series of 4 early bird criteriums. These crits were paired with clinics covering a variety of race skills. There were no official placements, but they count toward my cat 5 upgrade points.

I’ve been training (mostly) consistently since early 2019, first with Sufferfest, and now with TR since October (TR rocks btw). I completed a sweet spot base training section and with my 4 C races sprinkled in, I just finished a short build and specialization block. I have been 95% compliant with a mid-volume plan since October.

With all this training I was feeling pretty good about going into some cat 5 crits. Turns out I have quite a ways to go to even compete at this level.

In both the first and fourth crit, I just plain got dropped. Like a hot potato. Since these are practice crits, they allow you to soft pedal until you get lapped and then slot back in to get the practice time in the peloton. Today, in race four, I didn’t even have the legs to slot back in! OUCH!

Race two and three went ok, meaning I finished in the main group.

I am definitely getting faster and I’m pushing myself HARD. In crit 3 I set all-time records for my 10min power and 20 min power, AND the NP for the 50 minute race was above my last tested FTP!

Today, in crit 4 I had two 5 minute blocks where I set all-time PR for 5 min power. I was giving it 100% to hang on to that group, just to see them float away.

So, I’m obviously getting faster, but not fast enough to hang with cat 5 racers? It’s frustrating to train for basically a full year, and still not be fast enough to hang with beginners. (I have race experience from about 30 years ago which just adds to my frustration)

I know it’s still very early in the season, and my A and B races are in May and June. I will undoubtedly see more big gains. But… This is also true for all those guys who dropped me today…