Knees aching during longer intervals or VO2 max workouts

Hi,

I started the low volume sweet spot a few weeks ago and it went pretty well until I got to workouts with intervals lasting 8-10 minutes long. My knees start to ache and feel bad - it’s not a burning like I get in the muscle. It’s not in the patella area as I’ve sometimes had in the past, but surrounding the joint.

The last week or two I’ve been doing longer slower rides and laying off the sweet spot and then tried a 30 minute vo2 max workout with 2 sets of 5x1 min intervals (Baird -3) and midway through the second set the knees started complaining again. I sat out one interval and then completed the last two without issue.

I have been riding MTB for about 2 years. Trainer Road on and off. 40 years old.

Does anyone have a similar experience? Theories? Advice?

Thanks,
Sam

Where, specifically, is the knee pain? The exact location is important in determining potential cause(s). Also, are you standing, sitting, using big gears during work intervals?

I was having similar issues and a bike fit resolved it. Go find a well recommended bike fitter and get your fit dialed in.

1 Like

Brushman, It’s sitting during work. I’d say the ache is in the front mostly, but not in one spot.

How big a gear are you pushing?

I keep cadence above 90 most work sets. I don’t really feel like I’m grinding in a big gear.

I had a similar experience when I first began using TR. Bike fit adjustments helped although I have still never had a real bike fit done ( I used a bike fit app) .
I ended up taking a month off of the bike to let the knee heal. That was not fun but it worked. When I started back I paid close attention to how my knees were tracking and found that focusing on keeping them straight (per coach Chad workout texts) has really strengthened the supporting cast of muscles around them so my knees don’t ache at all unless I’m doing +110 rpm intervals then I’ll get the dull ache after 45 minutes.