Kona Qualification, Kona experience and race report (warning, LONG post)

Hey guys, figured I would share my overall thoughts on the KQ as well as my race week/day experience while it is fresh in my head and I am still riding out the IMWC high.

Kona Qualification -
It seems as if most who have entered the long course triathlon scene have heard of or thought of obtaining the illustrious ‘‘Kona Qualification.’’ Since I started training for Ironman Boulder back in November of last year, I read plenty of articles and did my research on finishing times needed for a shot at a Kona Qualification. If you haven’t already, CoachCox | Ironman World Championship Qualification the coach cox site does a great analysis on just about every IM race imaginable. I knew going into it that for the 30-34 age group, I would need around a 60min swim, around a 4:50 bike split as well as a 3:30 run. These are general guidelines and will always be plus or minus a few minutes depending on the course as well as the conditions. Of course a fast bike can have a slower run and vis versa. The quick and dirty on the benchmarks for the 30-34age group: a 60min 3.8k swim is 1:25/100 yard, for this you should be able to easily hold 1:20-1:24/100 yards on very minimal rest. Your FTP should be well above 4.0 w/kg, this would allow you to ride a 74% IF for the 180km race somewhere around 3.1w/kg. You should be able to run a 5k around 18:30min or around 6min miles. If adequately trained to the appropriate volume, this will land you somewhere around a sub 3hr open marathon or at that 3:30-3:35 Ironman run. Even then, that high level of fitness does not guarantee a Kona qualification. I have met plenty of athletes who are able to run circles around me and still have yet to obtain a KQ. Of course there exists very elite age groupers in which they come from a collegiate background of sorts and have times fast enough that they can easily obtain their professional card. They will continue to secure at least 1 of