Massively Tight Hip Flexors When I Started On the Trainer

This November I started a build plan. All riding prior to that was outside. Even after just the 1st week inside I noticed tension in my hip flexors. Nothing bad just sort of a “that’s interesting” sort of feeling. I just completed my 5th week and the hip flexors are feeling uncharacteristically sore.

If I understand correctly “tight or sore” hip flexors are more due to an imbalance with the glute complex or glutes not being recruited therefore the hip flexors are forced to overcompensate.

That’s all fine, but I’m wondering why this presented itself when I started training on a trainer? Bike and fit is identical and has not changed this year from last. Any ideas or insight appreciated.

1 Like

Also suffer from tight flexors. I have to really stretch as well as keep a focus on my pedalling to stop myself from trying to pedal with my HF (bad habit). Also worked for me is changing the position of the actual bike (vs position on the bike). Is it true/level to outdoor riding? Try raising the front end by 1-2%.

$0.02

1 Like

The trainer is level now. Just so I understand, raising the front end beyond level helped?

I don’t suffer from this problem but I know I tend to slightly ride my bike differently between indoors and outdoors. I use my tri bike for both, and I concentrate and work on position constantly, but esp when it comes to my races, I sit way more forward on the saddle (literally on the very tip). However it doesn’t injure me or cause any issue, my power and comfort is still the same, I just tend to more my body forward more, probs due to my heavy breathing coming out of the swim. Riding indoors and following plans you tend to pedal more and hardly coast, plus you’re concentrating more on mechanics and body position, everything is slightly different.

1 Like