Metabolic (VO2max, Threshold, Efficiency, etc.) Testing for Cyclists/Triathletes

Hey All,

I’m curious about everyone’s history with any sort of metabolic testing they have had done. In listening to the backlog of podcasts I just listened to the episodes where they did their efficiency, vo2max, RMR, etc. testing and wondered who else out there has had any of these done.

I have a lot of experience with both administering and undergoing VO2max tests for runners, but was curious if any cyclists/triathletes out there have tested and got any actionable items from it, or if it really just is more of a curiousity thing.

I, for one, am a geek about this kind of stuff (and hope at least one other person is as well…), so feel free to post about methods, protocols, results, anything you want to discuss.

Haven’t done it myself but a former colleague had a vo2 test done a few years ago which included substrate analysis. He discovered that even at very low levels of intensity he was almost burning sugar almost exclusively, and very little fat

He had done almost exclusively high internsity training for year, he had to do a load of base training in order to reestablish fat burning.

I did both a resting and exercise metabolic test last fall. The intent was to dial in macronutrient timing and develop a meal plan. I honestly just lost interest as my career and family obligations made a meal plan (while awesome) not realistic.

If I had the money and time I would have worked with the nutritionist and the coach to implement and use the data going forward. But, even for me the price was way too steep. Cycling coaching was $500/month with the coach who did my testing or $250/month for someone I don’t know. The metabolic health coach/nutritionist was another $250/month.