Mid or High plan

I have just finished the cyclocross season and I am planning my next year heading up to September when the season starts again.

My plan is Sweet Spot base Mid Volume, Short Power Build Mid Volume and then Cyclocross Mid volume as a specialty.

I am a mid pack Vet 40 at regional level and have quite a high level of fitness carried over from the season, I plan on a regular riding with a few TR session to keep the fitness during the week.

This is my first complete year of Trainer Road where I have had the chance to do the full Base, Build and Specialty, I have the time to do either the Mid or High volume but not sure if my body can handle the high volume.

Do does anyone have any experience comparing the 2? mid and high? Have you noticed a marked improvement in FTP or Race performance when choosing the High or the Mid volume?

I am thinking possibly starting on the Mid volume for the Sweet Spot base 1+2 and then making a call as to whether to increase to the high Volume for the Build phase

I don’t really have a good comparison between medium and high, but I really do enjoy the high volume plans. I’ve been focused mainly on CX this past year and probably will into the future, so while I’m not really thinking about road races (I might dabble in a couple just to get out there and compete), I like doing high volume training because I find it just makes long rides more fun when I’m that fit. I can say that last year I did a 65mile road race, and while I got dropped, I was able to go 3.5hrs with an IF of 0.86, 2hrs of which were at 0.91 and 1hr at 0.96, so while my power profile wasn’t really where it needed to be overall, I felt successful in being able to ride that hard for that long. That’s just my experience as a CX’er who is still a bit of an epic roadie at heart!

1 Like