Mismatched FTP for newbie

Newbie here. Did a Ramp test which put me at an FTP of 183. Did my first workout today and died toward the end :slight_smile: My question is for those who have been in my situation where you were a beginner, and the work outs are questionably not sustainable long term. By how much did you decrease your FTP manually? I was thinking bringing it down to 163 and continue on with the sweet spot training. Then reassess at the end. What did you do?

Thanks,
Damir

Need some more information. In general, I think you’re more likely to underestimate your FTP at the beginning than over estimate it. I wouldn’t suggest bumping it down.

What workouts have you done that you think are non sustainable long-term? Were the conditions the same between ramp test and the workouts you tried? Did you complete these workouts? What do you mean by “questionably not sustainable long term”?

I think it just takes time to get used to TR workouts if you’re new to them. I reckon it took me maybe 4 or 5 workouts to get used to the formats and also my direct drive trainer. Give it some time on the FTP you recorded.

Many of the rides are designed to push you to your physical limit - sometimes over and over again. If you are new to this sport or to structured training this might seem harder than you are used to. That doesn’t mean it is too hard. But if you physically can’t hold the prescribed effort try not to quit. Adjust the intensity down by 3-5 percent and keep going. Your body will reap incredible rewards. Over a period of a few weeks you will be able to tell whether your fatigue is burying you. If it is, then a lower FTP might be in order. If it’s just hard as hell in the moment and you are gasping and covered in sweat but you can hang on just barely… welcome to Trainer Road.

3 Likes

This.

Are you a beginner to cycling? A beginner to indoor riding? A beginner to TR?