New study compares Time@VO2max of Varied- and Constant-Intensity Intervals

Pinched from another forum:

I don’t think this has as much to do with ERG mode but to me it just says doing shorter v02 max intervals is more effective than doing longer v02 max intervals.

There was one company or person or whatever that was saying something similar about ERG mode, while pitching their own services, so I read it as more of an ad than research. I think this was on a FB group

1 Like
  1. I am far from an expert at reading these reports, but what I read in the Abstract seems to be focused on steady-state work vs interval work in the HIIT.

• Is that correct?
  2. I see no mention of ERG mode vs Resistance mode info, and question if that is even part of the testing.

• Where is the “ERG mode” association in the title of this thread?
  3. I am wondering if the “varied- or constant-intensity work intervals” is being misinterpreted?

Maybe the thread title was wrong, I pinched that too!

Can you add a link to the origin?

I’d like to read it and the associated info, to see if it adds clarity.

I will correct the thread title if appropriate.

1 Like

Interestingly enough, most research labs use Ergometers, so they probably were in Erg mode!

1 Like

TrainerRoad has both varied-intensity and constant-intensity intervals for vo2max work. Erg mode supports both, it seems the title of this thread is misleading.

If reading the abstract correctly, what I see is:

• 14 cyclists in study
  • compared varied-intensity and constant-intensity work intervals
  • HR and RPE was the same for both types
  • measured vo2 was higher for varied-intensity
1 Like

Discussing abstracts? Really?

Here’s the full text

https://www.researchgate.net/publication/336641479_Optimizing_interval_training_through_power_output_variation_within_the_work_intervals

grafik

3 Likes

thanks! I did a quick search but have been in meetings since 5am and must have fumbled the search

Interesting setup:

• Kickr