New to TR - Struggling in LV SSB1

I’m in my 3rd week of LV SSB1 and have yet to make it through a workout without dialing the intensity down midway through AND taking a few backpedal breaks.

I am particularly struggling through the longer intervals, such as Ericsson and Antelope. My legs light up and I get to the point where I just can’t turn the cranks anymore at that level of intensity.

I know some of it is mental, and I need to just suffer through it. But I feel like I got a good ramp test and that my FTP is probably about right. I’m hoping some of this is just getting adjusted to TR. But in searching this topic I’ve seen where some users are breezing their way through LV SSB1.

Any suggestions here? Do i just need to HTFU, or should I dial down my FTP? I’ve been riding for a couple of years now…mostly a mix of road and MTB. I’ve done a lot of MTB XC races and am currently training for a marathon race in March.

What trainer are you using? If it’s a wheel-on, did you do a spindown prior to taking your FTP test and do you do spindowns prior to starting your workouts?

Regarding your Ramp Test, did you make sure to not stand up during any portion of it? Mashing the pedals, especially toward the end will give you too high an FTP.

How’s your cadence during the intervals?

It’s always so frustrating not being able to finish workouts. Hopefully there’s an easy answer somewhere in there!

I’m using a Kickr Snap (wheel on). I do a spin down about every 3rd workout.

For the ramp test, I did a spin down prior and stayed in the saddle the entire time.

For cadence, I am attempting to stay around 90rpm, but as fatigue sets in that rpm slows down. And then the kickr snap is unforgiving when you slow cadence down…you almost have to come to a stop so that the power will let up or you’ll burn some matches trying to get cadence back up.

1 Like