Not sure if ERG mode is working on 2014 Kickr (firmware is up to date)?

I bought a second hand 2014 Kickr from a friend yesterday (he’s very trustworthy so I don’t believe the trainer is broken) and I’m not convinced that ERG mode is working but I’m a smart trainer newb so i might be wrong. I think it might not be working because when I did a ramp test yesterday the only way I was able to increase the power seemed to be by spinning faster and changing up gears. I ended up on my big ring (46) and 11 tooth sprocket with a cadence of 100 and was making about 270w. If i reduced cadence the power dropped off. Is there a way of telling whether or not ERG mode is working or not?

I have checked the firmware version and it’s up to date and I have ERG mode set in the TrainerRoad app on my laptop. I don’t have a power meter on my bike and I had I have Power Match set to Auto. I read that the device shouldn’t be paired with any other apps so perhaps I should remove it from the Wahoo app on my phone but this seems odd because the TrainerRoad app is connecting to the Kickr and sensing speed and power from it. Any suggestions?

Read and check these articles:

Thanks very much. I’d already read the first one and the only thing I can see different in my setup is that the screenshot shows Power Match set at Disabled rather than Auto, so I’ll try that. Is the way to test if ERG mode is working to:

1. Enter a workout
  2. Select a cadence and wait a few seconds to see if the Kickr adjusts to the goal power level?
  3. Change cadence and then wait a few seconds to see if the Kickr adjusts to the goal power level?

Yup, your list is the right way to test. Make absolutely certain that you have ERG mode selected (visible at the bottom of the screen for PC/Mac, or in the trainer settings under Devices on the mobile app).

Run the workout, hold a given cadence and be patient to allow the trainer time to adjust. Can be 5-10 seconds depending on the change in power target.