Optimal pacing/rotation for 4 man TTT

For a race of about 1 hour, one would think VO2 max efforts of maybe 60seconds with rest periods 3x the length of the work. But I am not sure how much you can recover in a paceline vs rest interval in a workout.
120% ftp seems a bit high, maybe more like 110 and then go out and practice it

Anyone have experience with this?

I’m no expert on TTT’s but I would have thought that shorter pulls was a better way of doing things.

Plus, you do need to take into account what your teammates can hold while recovering, as there will probably be differences in FTP (and CDA) between riders.

Try it and see. You are going to have varying abilities (both power and recovery) and varying draft potential. For a 4 person TT, how much you can rest in the line depends largely on how much air you push compared to the person in front of you - if they are tiny and you are large, there isn’t going to be much resting going on at all.
It’s also worth practising starting with different people in different positions. I would suggest slowest to fastest, but that can lead to the slowest person struggling to get on the back after they have started everyone else off. It depends on how the rotation works out as well.
Practising is really useful. Also, working out what words you want to use to communicate beforehand - make them short and different - if you use “go” and “slow”, there’s going to be an issue!
Edit - when we’ve done 9-up TTs, 20-30 seconds is a good length for a pull. You might find that doesn’t give enough “rest” time for a 4 up.

1 Like

My favorite racing is TTT!! Best way to suffer is with friends!