Over unders newbie question

Hi there,

I’m new to structured training and three weeks into SSB mid vol 1 I still haven’t done any of those over under sessions.

I know they’ll be hard (and that’s why I avoided them haha), but my question is: are they really skippable? I don’t race and I’m not interested in racing. By that I mean I don’t intend to “surge” or cover gaps or sprint to the line.

My main goal is to ride a century next spring, maybe a Gran Fondo. Wouldn’t endurance work be more effective in my case?

Any thoughts?

Thanks!

Hi there

Not sure on the training effect query but … I’m doing the same plan (I think) and just did Reinstein which had some nice over/unders…

I can see how they are building endurance - the ability to hold power at or above your FTP. In this case for 12 min blocks at either 95% or 105%. Road races - even long ones will require this - if wanting to keep up some sort of speed on inclines??

J

1 Like

Unless you are riding a completely flat & windless Fondo you’re probably going to encounter a good number of natural surges — hills, wind, etc.

You’ll work harder, you’ll work easier…it’s not going to all be linear power. O/U train your muscles (and mind) how to deal much better with those kind of oscillations.

They aren’t THAT horrendous of a workout, just keep reminding yourself that the unenjoyableness of O/U means you’ll get to enjoy your Fondo et al even more.

2 Likes

Maybe Im strange but I like over unders :smiley:

They aren’t in the training plan by accident and there will almost certainly be vo2 work in the build and speciality plans you chose so theres no point in avoiding it now.

2 Likes

I like them too. I think they’re in all of the training plans somewhere, so I suspect that they have value regardless of your aim. For me, I like seeing my heart rate recover even whe. I’m working really hard. From a mental toughness point of view, they can teach you to ease off rather than giving up when it gets tough.

1 Like