Pacing to survive The Whiskey 50 MTB Race

Hi TR people. I’m new to structured training. I just started 8 weeks ago. I’m about 1/2 through SSB2 low volume. This training is for The Whiskey 50 in 3 weeks. My question is about pacing for this event. I was going to try to use best bike split but the folks at BBS said it really won’t work for MTB. What pacing technique should I use? Any advice would be appreciated. I have a Stages left side on order for my XC bike so power pacing of some sort is available to me. AV % of FTP, IF, etc. My goal is to ride well, and try to finish under 5 hours, maybe 4.5 hours. No delusions of a podium or anything like that. I have 20+ years of technical MTB skill so no worries on that end of things.

Please feel free to look at my history if that helps. (James Conaway)

Side note… Although I have been pretty spot on in keeping to the plan today I skipped my 1.5 hr session and did the local 46mi group road ride. I crushed it (for me). 24 PR’s and pretty much everything else was a 2nd place. I used many of the pacing techniques you discuss in the podcast such as sitting on in the group and conserving energy for the hard climbs. Hard up, easy down. etc.

This product is LEGIT. Cannot believe how well it works. Thank you SO MUCH for changing my cycling after 20 years of just riding for fun. It is MUCH more fun to kick some butt. 35 stars all around. Oh, and it was awesome meeting Jonathan at Bonelli a couple weeks ago.

50 miles on a MTB is long day in the saddle especially when it starts with a 10 mile climb. Keep your initial efforts under control and don’t get swept up in the excitement. Fatigue slows you down on descents so if you stay within yourself on the climbs you’ll be faster and safer on the long descents. Good luck and be sure to fuel during the ride.

2 Likes