Power Match and ERG mode?

Hello everyone, I have been using TrainerRoad for a few months now, have a Kickr18. Also have a Stages LS Power Meter. My first FTP experience was outdoors and to cut a long story short I know the power numbers on a trainer compared to riding outside can vary. Just use the ramp test as my baseline now. I am from a running background and have always used HR in the past but clearly Power is King when it comes to making accurate assessments when cycling. When running I am very aware of my pacing, distance etc so I know when I am at or beyond my limits for a certain distances. I am starting to understand the Power numbers and how it ā€˜feelsā€™ on the bike. I would ultimately like to be in the position where I can translate these numbers to my outside rides to get the same benefit and knowledge I can get from running. As a result, I would like to have my power numbers when I am outside match as closely as possible to training indoors. Is Power Match the answer?

If so, this brings me to my next question, ERG mode. During intense TR workouts I love the fact that ERG mode just ā€˜locksā€™ me into the required power, I just need to focus on cadence or if things get so tough I just close my eyes and push through the pain knowing I am holding the right power.

Forgive me if this is a stupid question but will ERG mode still work if I use Power Match?

Forgive me if this is a stupid question but will ERG mode still work if I use Power Match?

Yes.

doesnā€™t seem to work in ā€œautoā€ with a Kinetic R&R control, using Garmin V3 pedals for cadence and power,
Trainer drifts away from target

2 Likes

I have a kickr (original model) and kickr core and use power match + ERG mode 100% of the time - works great. I do it for the same reasons @mikedav13s outlined - I want to have the same power numbers as the basis of my training and my outside ride