Races in/around Georgia (USA)

I’m new to cycling and want to find some races to compete in during the 2020 season. Has anyone done any races (road, crit, etc…) in Georgia? I’ve had trouble finding races near me or getting a handle on the racing scene in Atlanta or Georgia in 2020. The only one I know about is the Grant Park Criterium which is right near where I live now. I’d like to participate in this in 2020 and am using TrainerRoad to get to that point.

Thanks

The GA State RR course the last couple of years has been fantastic – VO2 hills that obliterate the field and scatter groups of 3-8 all over the course. Do it.

1 Like

The Auburn Crit is a good one. And is usually the first of the season. It’s in Auburn, AL. And the rumble at Roebling is fun at the end of the season.

I just saw a youtube video of a crit in Dahlonega. No idea of when in the season it happens.

Here is the best source of race listing ms in Georgia and the southeast.

You can also try the Race Ready app. Has a decent amount of races and events and you can set the filter for one state or multiple states if you want to search the Southeast.

Check the USA cycling events page, I just participated in my first crit at Grant park this year and it was a blast even though I was dying and barely avoided finishing in last place.

2 Likes

thanks I had not seen this page before. only looked at the group rides one.

I live a block from the start walked down to watch the cat 1/pro race. Should have given the cat 5 race a shot in retrospect and definitely going to do so this year. What program did you use to measure and record all your data and then layover onto the video?

I’m curious what type of fitness I would need to have to compete well in this. What was your NP for the race if you don’t mind me asking?

I love racing in Georgia!