RETUL bike fitment, is it worth it?

I’m relatively new to cycling and decided to race XC this past spring to have more time with my son. We had a lot of fun together but my sons running obligations and competitions have us running in different directions most of the time, he is a very talented HS runner 800m, Mile, and XC. I on the other hand fell in love with cycling and racing.

I made some big plans this year in regards to racing and what I want to achieve in 2019, I went from a Very nice hardtail to a full suspension XC race bike, and have went through a few fit issues with the new ride. I want to get the most out of it and be able to ride as economical as possible because my major goals are 24hr endurance races. From what I’m told we have one of the nations best bike fitment experts here locally, is a pro bike fitment really worth it?

I dont have any experience with getting fit on a mountain bike, but I did get a RETUL fit on my road bike about 2 months ago and it was totally worth it. I was really skeptical on it, but at the end of it, and after a couple good rides outside with the new fit, it was worth every penny.

1 Like

Bike fit is worth it.
Retul is just a tool, but it certainly aids in the process. Like anything, tools are only half the equation, the person using the tool is also important.

3 Likes

As @Spots has already said, I had my road bike fitted using this system two years ago. I haven’t changed a thing since. Totally work it.

That said, the kit is only as good as the person using it. Get some feedback if you can.

1 Like

Is your question about RETUL or getting a professional bike fit in general? There are many bike fit systems; RETUL, Precision Fit (Trek), Body Geometry (Specialized), Guru and many others. They all do fairly similar things, so I wouldn’t pick a fit based on the system. I would pick a system based on the fitter though. They are a tool, but it’s the fitter that will make the difference.