Riding outside during a plan in place of a workout

Hi Guys -I’m new to this structured training malarckey and i’m deffo nowhere near anything that could be considered race level - BUT i love to ride and i want to get better/faster/more efficent, rather than training for a specific event. As with many others i work far too many hours so I want to make the most of my time on the bike.
I’m 4 weeks into the Sweetspot base plan. The two 1 hour weekday worksout are fine - but fitting in the 90 minute weekend workout is difficult. If i forgo my sunday social ride, i can fit it in, but the sunday ride is my sanity. We ususally do between 50 and 60 miles with 2500 and 4000 ft of climb. Intensity varies depending on route and whos there- my winer bike has no Power meter but i’m in no state to do the workout when i come back. If do the 90 minute workout on the saturday - i find my self struggling on the ride.
If i swap the 90 minute workout to a weekday would i still need to stop the sunday socials while i’m on the plan or will the 150 miutes of workout + the sunday ride be enough to make the plan still be worth doing ?
Sorry for the long ramble!!
Thank you!!

1 Like

I would do your Sunday social ride.

Then look at which tr workout it will likely best match that week and drop that, shift the other 2 as required.

You can also try and replicate your weekend ride outdoors on the social ride. This may not be too successful mind.

Of course it’s not the end of the world if you don’t slavishly follow the plan. However keeping an eye on weekly tss progression is important. Don’t want to put yourself in a hole.

2 Likes

Ride outside. You don’t have to follow these plans to a ‘T’ - it helps, but getting outside for 3-4 hours of fun group ride/endurance is huge.

1 Like