Seasoned Cyclist, New to TR, Where to Start?

I’m new to TR and trying to figure out where to start - SSBI, SSBII or straight to Build. Also vacillating between med and high volume.

I just finished the 10-12 week FTP Builder on Zwift, albeit with close to a 3 week break in the middle due to a family emergency. This plan was largely Z1/2/3 and seems to mimic SSBI fairly closely.

I’m 46y/o and have been cycling regularly for about 9 years. For the last 5, I’ve avg’d 350+hrs/yr, except '18 where I travelled most of the year resulting in multi-month lapses and only about 250hrs for the year… so I’m still trying to regain the fitness I had at the beginning of 2018.

No target events to speak of, just want to improve. It is summertime here in San Diego, so a lot of my riding will be done outside and if there was a time of year that I’d like to be peaking, this would be it.

I also shoot for ~10hrs/week, which usually ends up 4-5hrs M-F and 5-7hrs Sat & Sun but as a dad and biz owner, this schedule varies.

I’m inclined to start with SSBII mid-volume mostly for M-F and continue to do my longer rides on the weekend but figured I check-in here before committing to a block.

Thanks!

That sounds like a good place to start. Then move on to the Build of your choice. For people without an A-Race, you can simple reset back to the SSB1 & SSB2, with a different Build for fun and variety. There is not much need to do a Specialty, but you can always do one for something different.

I would include a short break from structure after your first Build. Like the 1 or 2 week reset that is recommended after people complete the Specialty and A-Race.

Here are some threads with similar questions:

2 Likes