Stopping using a coach

I have been using a coach for about 18 months now and it has worked out well. Hit some goals, raised my FTP, been more disciplined in my training and felt answerable to someone.

All the reasons people chose to use a coach. However I am now thinking about stopping as I think I have learnt most of the big takeaways and it seems quite repeatable now.

I have been a TR user for close to 5 years now and I did follow plans but invariably misssed sessions or did my own thing. Therefore the coach proved useful for keeping me on track.

Have any other users been in the same situation and have binned their coach, followed a plan and have learnt from their coached experience?

~5-6 years with the same coach and Iā€™m ~6 weeks into the non coaching life.

The biggest change Iā€™ve seen other than the overall approach iā€™ve laid out (which is of my choosing) is the lack of accountability you mention. I just had 2 weeks and am in the 3rd of making changes straight to the plan which gets me nervous. I am relying on some old lessons and ā€˜what would my coach sayā€™ as I make those changes. Iā€™m sure I will screw it up somewhere down the lineā€¦

So far I havenā€™t completely blown anything off that I wouldnā€™t have with the coaches advice.

1 Like

And thatā€™s the beauty of this forum.

When in doubt, share your planned changes here and some clever people can help you see if itā€™s a good or bad direction.

Itā€™s not one-on-one or guaranteed, but the feedback here is nothing short of impressive most days.

6 Likes

True trueā€¦

If i think back to most plan changes I ever made with my coach it was a text that went like

ā€œYoā€¦X happened, Iā€™m thinking Iā€™ll do this ride or that ride.ā€

Coach: ā€œBummer about X - do this rideā€

1 Like

If your relationship with a coach mostly amounts to scheduling or rescheduling workouts, Iā€™d suggest evaluating your options.

2 Likes