Switching to TT bike

Today marked the last workout of SSB I LV for me (Pallisade :dizzy_face: - but managed to hang in :star_struck:), I completed the whole plan on my road bike.

I am in triathlon and have just been fitted on my new Canyon Speedmax :heart_eyes::heart_eyes: and want to put it on the trainer now. This brings me to some thoughts that I would like to bounce with you guys

As I am new to riding in TT position I am considering if it is a good idea to jump into SSB II, using my conditioning from SSB I. As muscles and core/positional stabilization is different between the two positions I may have less carry-over from SSB I to SSB II, on the other hand I can probably manage given a different FTP when I test now in the TT position. An alternative would be to start again SSB I on the TT or to start triathlon half distance base. I have enough time until race season and some room to wiggle.

Finally I am also considering to do a ramp test of SSB I after the recovery week on my road bike solely to gauge FTP gains from SSB as a motivational exercise. I would time this on the saturday of the recovery week, and then test again the week after in the TT position.

Thanks for your thoughts!

Itā€™s understandable to measure your FTP gains on the road bike (apples/apples comparison) :grinning:.

After that, dedicate a week or so getting the new TT aero position dialed in with more endurance and steady-state oriented workouts, getting out of the saddle on occasion. Then, after a couple of short/easy recovery days, do your FTP Ramp test on the new TT bike. Approach the test as you would a race - time trialā€¦staying in aero position!.

Good luck!

4 Likes

I would agree with doing a ramp test on your TT bike.

Iā€™ve got a few thoughts here.