Taxc flux - what are your thoughts?

trainer

Have seen a late Black Friday deal on a taxc flux smart training to replace my dumb one should go for it ? Or buy the more expensive version ? Any help would much appreciate as I tend to over research these things and talk my self out. Thank

I’ve been running one since Jan 2017 successfully. At first I think it took a couple of weeks to get TR and the Tacx firmware up and running right, but after that it’s been great. I’ve been doing all workouts in erg mode in a low gear to minimize flywheel inertia.

I know others have given it bad reviews, but for me it’s been great at a significant discount compared to the Kickr, Hammer, Neo etc.

Took me a couple of TR sessions to get used to ERG mode but now I’m converted. I’d definitely recommend the Flux based on my experience :+1:

I am on my second flux. My brother has had two DOA. Another club mate had his first DOA.

The flux has fairly tight resistance floors and ceilings relative to flywheel speed so erg is good but requires some interaction for the best results.

All that said if you get a good one it’s an excellent unit and good value for money now. I’m happy with mine. I can comfortably have a TV show playing and no longer need headphones at absurb volumes to be able to hear. These days my fan (a 20" industrial fan…) Is the loudest thing in the room by a long way.

Can add to this, I know three people who have had issues and got replacement units, but I’ve been rocking mine 2/3 times a week for a year now with no problems

I got a flux S last week, started a thread on it about some issues I’ve had so far. My main issue is with ERG mode where it seems to struggle badly. I see some poster above are saying to use the small ring, but in reality it should work both in big and small ring. ERG mode seems to be overly difficult form the 2 workouts I’ve done.