Time between Tri’s

So I’ve signed up for my first Tri, Olympic Distance in May. I’ve been cycling for about 5 years and running frequently recently, and a competent if not regular swimmer (something I’ll try and fix).
My question is, I have a couple of friends who will be entering an Olympic Tri 3 weeks later. Given I have been using TR and running since about September, with my plans all in place up until May, would three weeks be enough for me to recover and put in a decent effort for the second race? I’m hoping two weeks of maintenance with a one week like the end of a plan will be ok?

Yeah three weeks should be more than enough time to recover. You’ll need to decide which of the two races you’re wanting to target as your “A” race though. If it’s the second race, it’s probably not worth tapering too much for the first and simply using the first race as a tune-up race.

If you’ve never done a tri before I’d even recommend doing a sprint race in Apr if possible. Getting some swim race practice before doing the Olympic distance 1500m swim would be well worth it.

Good luck anyway, let us know how you get on :+1:

Cool, thanks.
Yeah I’ll probably put more effort into the second one, although another race in April could be out of he question as the original idea was to just have a couple of targets rather than continously racing crits all summer and keeping the family happy!
I have already managed 1k swim in a pool in half hour ish so with a bit more practice should be fine for it.
No doubt have lore questions along the way

Definitely get at least one open water swim in before the tri. Even if you’re swimming well in the pool, open water is a whole different beast!

2 Likes