Training for Long Climbing Race

Hi, All. New TR member here.

First off, thanks for the forum/podcast and an excellent training platform. Took my first Ramp test today and already love it.

I’ve been cycling with a new level of intensity for about the past 18 months. I am riding with a group of guys that are stronger than I am. That’s been a great way to get stronger.

I have set a 2019 Goal to complete the Climb to Kaiser. For those that arent familiar, it’s a race in the Fresno area that is 150mi with 15k ft of climbing. I have a few questions regarding how to train:

1. I have two young kids, so most of my miles each week come in the form of 1 hour rides in the early morning. I can sneak in a longer ride once, maybe twice a month. Is there a combination of TR plans that can help me get used to sustained climbing? The distance doesnt worry me so much, i’ve done a few centuries…it’s just the sustained climbing, I dont do a lot of that.

2. I ride 5 days a week and have a weekly TSS around 250 - 350. Will i have to drop some of my daily rides if I add in the low volume plans? They look to add about another 200TSS to a week. Is that too large of a jump?

Thank you for your help!

Josh

@Josh_Willis, Are your 5 days a week ride all outside and you want to keep them outside and add training?
I typically only have time for hour rides during the week and this past summer, I made an effort to make sure those were on the trainer (to eliminate ride delays like flats, traffic, long lights, etc) and to maximize the benefit. It worked great for me. My FTP didn’t drop like it has over the course of the past summers.
For long sustained climbs, SS Base, followed by Sustained Power Build then either the Century or the Climbing Road Race specialty plans would probably work really well for you.

1 Like