Training for the longest climb I've ever seen

Hey guys!

I am a college student who is going to be studying in Cuenca, Ecuador for about 8 weeks after Christmas. I had used the calendar to plan my training, and was planning on starting SSB mid volume 1 my first week in Cuenca. However I found something yesterday that makes me think about changing up my plans.

I found this strava segment relatively near where I am going to live, and of course I have become obsessed with going for it at some point! The segment itself is 44.1 miles long with 12,242ft of climbing, and if you start the ride a bit lower down, the climb ends up being almost 50 miles long with close to 14,000ft (I know, it’s nuts!). If I do choose to start the climb as low as possible (which, of course I feel like I have to do!), I’ll be starting at just 25ft above sea level and reaching a max elevation of 13,625ft at the top of the mountain. Crazy!

My question is about what I should do between now and when I get to Ecuador to make sure I am as strong as possible for when I attempt the ride. I have no idea what exact date I’ll get to go for it, but I know I am going to be in Cuenca from Jan 3rd-March 3d. I am still planning on starting SSB 1 when I get to Ecuador so I don’t fall behind for my planned events, however I feel like if I try to attempt this ride with only a few weeks of structured training from SSB under my belt, I’ll have a reallllly hard time going for the KOM. I was thinking about starting either sustained power build, or maybe the century specialty plan and just doing as much of the plan as possible before I head to Ecuador? Thoughts?

Any insight or tips would be much appreciated!

Here is a link to the segment for anybody interested: La Muerte

(yup, it is indeed called “la muerte”, which means “death” in spanish- yikes!)