Training for the Tour de France

Hi, I’m brand new to TrainerRoad but I’ve signed up to do the Tour de France (the whole thing) a week before the Pros next year. From London and the rain is coming in at 90 degrees at around 5 degrees celsius - So, TrainingRoad is my only friend for the next few months. Though I’ve been doing quite a bit of cycling for the last few years I’m 50 and 100kg. (I’ve clearly being watching too many David Goggins & Rich Roll videos and overdosing on “seize the day” rhetoric). On the plus side I have almost 30 weeks to go but my question is, is base sweet spot training the best place to start? A lot here seems to be aimed at 1 event but I think I have 3 week on the bike, 3500km and some days of around 220km with back to back 4000 meter climbs. I’d hate to get cracking and find out 2 months in that I would have been better off spending 20 hours a week in endurance zone on the road (in my waterproofs!). Thanks!

4 Likes

I’d take a trip to see Team Sky’s doctor :wink:

6 Likes

Wow! Good luck.

I’m thinking that this will depend on where your current fitness and cycling abilities rest. The guys I cycle with who do two or three Haute Route events per year are already well into their training and that fades into insignificance when compared to your undertaking.

Of course it can be done. Back In The Saddle by Hayden Groves is proof and worth a read.

I’d say that you’re going to need to be putting in a lot of back-to-back-to-back rides, keeping the pace realistic. Climbing wise, you’re going to be doing a lot of hill repeats to even replicate the elevation your going to encounter.

Good luck :+1:

Are you in a cycling club? If not, join a cycling club!

My own (London-based) club has Saturday, Sunday, and midweek rides that let you get lots of miles in without spending 4 hours staring at a wall/screen. I’m sure others are the same. Not all days are as nasty as today!